Boris Johnson news latest: New prime minister to be revealed on 5 September

Who backs who in Tory management contest?

As the race to do well Boris Johnson as leader of the Conservative Party gathers pace, numerous Tory MPs have uncovered who has their backing.

By way of quotes in the press, social media posts and direct affirmation, the PA information agency verified the supported candidates of extra than 140 Tory MPs, as of 3pm.

Under, The Impartial has detailed the candidates in descending get of full announced backers:

Rishi Sunak: 36

What are supporters indicating? “Best individual to lead our region and unquestionably the greatest human being to conquer Labour,” reported previous minister Oliver Dowden.

Complete record of supporters: Mark Harper, Jacob Younger, Angela Richardson, John Glen, Laura Trott, Mark Spencer, Paul Maynard, Robert Jenrick, Claire Coutinho, Liam Fox, Oliver Dowden, Mel Stride, Sir Bob Neill, Andrew Murrison, Bim Afolami, Louie French, Simon Jupp, Simon Hoare, Kevin Hollinrake, Fay Jones, Peter Gibson, Helen Whately, Maria Caulfield, Craig Williams, James Cartlidge, Robert Goodwill, Simon Hart, Gareth Davies, Siobhan Baillie, Anthony Browne, Greg Fingers, Ruth Edwards, Gary Streeter, Alex Chalk, Laura Farris.

Penny Mordaunt: 20

What are supporters expressing? “Penny Mordaunt shares my socially liberal views but, like me, will assure there will be no compromise on the British want for a clear break with the £EU,” explained Michael Fabricant MP.

Whole listing of supporters: John Lamont, Nicola Richards, Michael Fabricant, Kieran Mullen, Alicia Kearns, Craig Tracey, Robbie Moore, Harriet Baldwin, Caroline Ansell, George Freeman, Derek Thomas, Elliot Colburn, Damian Collins, Maria Miller, Andrea Leadsom, Theo Clark, James Sunderland, Duncan Baker, James Grey, Caroline Dinenage.

Tom Tugendhat: 16

What are supporters indicating? Sir Robert Syms, MP sisaid: “I’m backing Tom as he’s the greatest particular person for the party and the region. As an individual who voted Leave, I have no doubt he will supply the Brexit dividend this nation justifies.”

Comprehensive list of supporters: Damian Inexperienced, Aaron Bell, John Stevenson, Stephen Hammond, Sir Robert Syms, Mark Logan, Anne-Marie Trevelyan, Chris Eco-friendly, Nickie Aiken, Damien Moore, Karen Bradley, Anne Marie Morris, Jake Berry, Mark Pawsey, James Daly, Neil Hudson.

Liz Truss: 15

What are supporters stating? Kwasi Kwarteng, the business secretary, informed The Sun: “What we simply cannot do is merely load our economic climate with heaps of distinct taxes. I believe there has to be a reset and there has to be a new route. Liz’s standard instinct on tax is correct.

Complete checklist of supporters: Alec Shelbrooke, Dehenna Davison, Jackie Doyle-Value, Rob Butler, Julian Knight, Chloe Smith, Dean Russell, Marcus Fysh, Darren Henry, Simon Clarke, Therese Coffey, Kwasi Kwarteng, Ranil Jayawardena, Wendy Morton, Vicky Ford.

Kemi Badenoch: 13

What are supporters declaring? Michael Gove told The Sunshine: “She is courageous, principled, amazing and type.”

Complete record of supporters: Julia Lopez, Eddie Hughes, Tom Hunt, Ben Bradley, Justin Tomlinson, Gareth Bacon, Caroline Johnson, Andrew Lewer, Neil O’Brien, Michael Gove, Leo Docherty, Lee Anderson, Lee Rowley.

Nadhim Zahawi: 12

What are supporters expressing? Michelle Donelan, who briefly replaced him as training secretary, mentioned “he receives issues completed and provides just like he did as Vaccines Minister.”

Complete checklist of supporters: Jonathan Gullis, David Johnston, Brandon Lewis, Michelle Donelan, Jesse Norman, Tobias Ellwood, Paul Scully, Amanda Milling, Mark Fletcher, Mark Jenkinson, Jack Brereton, Maggie Throup.

Jeremy Hunt: 10

What are supporters declaring? Esther McVey, who Mr Hunt has explained he would make deputy primary minister if he received, claimed he was the most expert candidate.

Total checklist of supporters: Steve Brine, Oliver Heald, Anthony Mangnall, Crispin Blunt, Esther McVey, Daniel Kawczynski, Andrew Mitchell, Philip Dunne, Dan Poulter, Jonathan Djanogly.

Suella Braverman: eight

What are supporters saying? Notable Brexiteer Steve Baker, who had viewed as operating himself, claimed: My priorities were being offering from our manifesto with our mandate, reducing taxes and observing by means of Brexit. Fortunately I no more time have to have to stand. SuellaBraverman will deliver these priorities and more.”

Total checklist of supporters: Sir Desmond Swayne, Jason McCartney, Robin Millar, Steve Baker, Danny Kruger, David Jones, Henry Smith, Sir John Hayes.

Sajid Javid: 7

What are supporters indicating?Previous parliamentary less than-secretary Rachel Maclean said: “There are only two men and women who the general public believe would be a great PM. Just one is a tax-cutter with the wide expertise to strike the ground jogging, and the backstory to relate to persons. And that’s why I’m #teamsaj. It is not just about this management election but who can unite the social gathering and acquire the up coming standard election.”

Whole checklist of supporters: Rachel Maclean, Chris Philp, Saqib Bhatti, Robin Walker, Mike Wood, Steve Double, Robert Halfon.

Grant Shapps: 7

What are supporters declaring? Atmosphere secretary George Eustice explained: “Grant has usually demonstrated very good judgement and an skill to take care of something thrown his way.

Whole list of supporters: George Eustice, Robert Courts, Trudy Harrison, James Davies, Mark Pritchard, Graham Stuart, Paul Bristow.

Priti Patel (as however unannounced): six

What are supporters declaring? Dwelling Place of work minister Tom Pursglove, Dwelling Business and M
inistry of Justice minister claimed: “I have witnessed initial hand PritiPatel’s potential to provide options to the most sophisticated complications struggling with our nation – from the Rwanda offer to quit the small boats, to having serious violence and theft down.”

Whole checklist of supporters: Tom Pursglove, Scott Benton, Anna Firth, Greg Smith, Simon Baynes, Shaun Bailey.

Rehman Chishti: zero

The newly appointed International Workplace minister experienced not been endorsed by any colleagues.