Your Guide to Rules & Requirements
While you may be wondering if you need a contractor license to work in Oklahoma, the answer is likely yes – but it depends on the type of contracting work you will be doing. Oklahoma requires a license for any contractor who will be performing work that is valued at $50,000 or more.
If you plan on doing contracting work in Oklahoma, you will need to obtain a license from the state. The process for getting a contractor license in Oklahoma is as follows:
1. Submit an application to the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB)
This should include your business name and address, a list of the contracting services you plan to offer, and the names and addresses of all owners, partners, or officers of your company.
2. Include a copy of your liability insurance policy with your application
Your policy must have coverage of at least $100,000 per occurrence and must name the CIB as an additional insured. The insurance that you are well protected against any potential accidents or injuries that could occur while you are working.
3. Include a surety bond with your application
The bond must be in the amount of $10,000 and must be issued by a company licensed to do business in Oklahoma. The bond must be made payable to the CIB and must be signed by an authorized representative of the surety company.
4. Include a certificate of workers’ compensation insurance with your application
If you have employees, you must have workers’ compensation insurance in place. If you do not have any employees, you can submit an affidavit stating that you do not plan to hire any employees in the course of your business.
5. Include the application fee with your application
The application fee is $300 for new applicants and $200 for renewing applicants. This fee is non-refundable and must be paid in full before your application can be processed. Ensure you pay the right amount by checking the CIB website for the most up-to-date fee information.
6. Schedule and pass the required exams
All applicants must pass two examinations in order to become licensed in Oklahoma: the Business and Law Exam, and the Trade Exam. These exams can be scheduled through the CIB and are offered on a regular basis throughout the state.
7. Submit your fingerprints for a background check
All applicants for a contractor license in Oklahoma must submit fingerprints for a background check. This can be done through the CIB or at any local law enforcement agency. The CIB will use your fingerprints to conduct a national criminal background check.
8. Complete the required continuing education courses
All licensed contractors in Oklahoma must complete four hours of Oklahoma Contractor License Continuing Education each year in order to renew their license. These courses must be approved by the CIB and can be taken online, in person, or through correspondence.
You need to pass the exam with a score of 70% or higher. If you do not pass the exam, you may retake it after a waiting period of 14 days. Also, you need to have a clean criminal record in order to obtain a contractor license in Oklahoma.
After you have completed all of the above requirements, you will be issued a contractor license by the CIB. This license will need to be renewed on an annual basis, and you will need to complete the required continuing education courses each year in order to renew.